Public Health

Affiliated Faculty

Alpesh Amin

Alpesh Amin, M.D.

anamin@uci.edu
Professor of Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Medical Education, Curriculum Development, Hospital Medicine, Anticoagulation.

Dean B. Baker

Dean B. Baker, M.D.

dbaker@uci.edu
Professor of Medicine; Environmental Health Sciences; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Occupational Epidemiology, Work Organization and Work-related Stress, Environmental Epidemiology, Children's Environmental Health

Stephen C. Bondy

Profile

Website (2)

Stephen C. Bondy, Ph.D.

scbondy@uci.edu
Professor of Medicine; Environmental Health Sciences; Pharmacology; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Environmental Toxicology, Neurotoxicology, Brain Aging

Bharath Chakravarthy

Profile

Bharath Chakravarthy, M.D.

bchakrav@uci.edu
Associate Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Injury Prevention, Suicide, Pedestrian Injuries, Simulation Medicine

Yunan Chen

Yunan Chen, Ph.D.

yunanc@uci.edu
Associate Professor of Informatics; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Chen's research interests are Medical Informatics and Human-Computer Interaction. She is particularly interested in designing interactive systems to support clinical and translational research. Yunan is a member of ACM, ASIST, AMIA and HIMSS.

Bongkyoo Choi

Bongkyoo Choi, Sc.D.

b.choi@uci.edu
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Psychosocial occupational epidemiology (mental health, WRMSDs, and CVD risk factors - obesity), work stress theories and methodologies, work stress physiology, cross-cultural studies, and quality of working life policies

Robert C. Detrano

Robert C. Detrano, M.D.

rdetrano@uci.edu
Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Radiological Sciences; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Developing research and educational programs related to cardiovascular disease in China.

Daniel L. Gillen

Daniel L. Gillen, Ph.D.

dgillen@uci.edu
Professor of Statistics; Epidemiology; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Statistics, Epidemiology

Michele B. Goodwin

Michele B. Goodwin, J.D.

goodwin@uci.edu
Chancellor's Professor of School of Law; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Law, Public Health

Douglas Granger

Douglas Granger, Ph.D.

dagrange@uci.edu
Professor of Psychology and Social Behavior; Pediatrics, and Public Health; Director, Institute for Interdisciplinary Salivary Bioscience Research

Research Interests: Psychology and Social Behavior, Pediatrics, and Public Health

Kamyar Kalantar-Zadeh

Kamyar Kalantar-Zadeh, M.D.

kkz@uci.edu
Professor of Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Nephrology, nutrition, and epidemiology

Jennifer Kane

Jennifer Kane, Ph.D.

jbkane@uci.edu
Assistant Professor of Sociology; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Dr. Kane is a sociologist and demographer specializing in family, fertility, population health, and quantitative methods

Masashi Kitazawa

Masashi Kitazawa, Ph.D.

kitazawa@uci.edu
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Program in Public Health
Michael Kleinman

Profile

Website (2)

Website (3)

Michael Kleinman, Ph.D.

mtkleinm@uci.edu
Adjunct Professor of Community & Environ Medicine; Environmental Health Sciences; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Environmental Toxicology, Inhalation Toxicology, Oxidative Stress and Cardiopulmonary Diseases

Kristi Koenig

Profile

Kristi Koenig, M.D.

kkoenig@uci.edu
Professor of Emergency Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Disaster Medical Sciences

Shahram Lotfipour

Profile

Website (2)

Shahram Lotfipour, M.D.

shl@uci.edu
Professor of Emergency Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Screening and Brief Intervention for Alcohol Use and Abuse in the Emergency Department and Trauma population

Michael J. Montoya

Profile

Michael J. Montoya, Ph.D.

mmontoya@uci.edu
UCI Chancellor's Fellow and Associate Professor of Anthropology; Chicano/Latino Studies; Culture and Theory; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Community health, chronic disease, participatory action-research, local knowledge, political economy of disease, diabetes, social studies of science and medicine, Latino health, translational science. Social inequality and health, race and ethnicity, social and cultural studies of science, technology, and medicine, participation of ethnic populations in biomedical research, the U.S./Mexican border, critical bioethics.

Dana Mukamel

Profile

Dana Mukamel, Ph.D.

dmukamel@uci.edu
Professor of Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Quality of care; long-term care; risk-adjusted outcomes; racial disparities; health economics; quality report cards

Carl Schultz

Profile

Carl Schultz, M.D.

schultzc@uci.edu
Professor of Emergency Medicine; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Disaster Medical Sciences

Roxane Cohen Silver

Profile

Website (2)

Roxane Cohen Silver, Ph.D.

rsilver@uci.edu
Professor of Psychology and Social Behavior; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Coping with traumatic life events (coping with traumatic life events, stress, social psychology, health psychology)

Dara Sorkin

Profile

Website (2)

Dara Sorkin, Ph.D.

dsorkin@uci.edu
Associate Professor, Program in Public Health; Departments of Medicine and Psychology and Social Behavior; Director, Community Engagement Unit, ICTS
University of California, Irvine

Research Interests: Close relationships, social support and conflict, behavioral lifestyle interventions around chronic disease management, program evaluation, integration of technology into health decision making

Bryan L. Sykes

Profile

Bryan L. Sykes, Ph.D.

blsykes@uci.edu
Assistant Professor of Criminology, Law and Society; Program in Public Health; Sociology

Research Interests: Health disparities, global burden of disease, fertility and mortality, disability, health metrics and policy, and mass incarceration

Nathan Wong

Nathan Wong, Ph.D. MPH

ndwong@uci.edu
Professor and Director, Heart Disease Prevention Program, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine - Adjunct Professor, Department of Epidemiology; Program in Public Health

Research Interests: Cardiovascular disease epidemiology and prevention; detection of subclinical atherosclerosis; diabetes and cardiovascular disease prevention

Copyright © 2017 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.